Academy of RV Tucker Study Clubs Awards


The RV Tucker award is the highest award that the Academy gives in recognizing an individual that has made a significant impact not only on the Academy but more importantly, to the profession as a whole. This is accomplished either through service or education or great impact that reflects the values of Dr. Tucker and represents his level or similar level of impact on the profession. As such, this award is not necessarily given out every year. This award is the responsibility of the president. This award should not be confused with the President's award which although carries prestige does not carry the same honor. The award also should be a surprise to all except the president and those that the president sought advice/opinions from. The president has the responsibility to invite the recipient to the annual meeting, awarding the plaque at the gala (whether or not the recipient is present) and assure that the awards are recognized/printed in the journal Operative Dentistry (and perhaps the Lineangle) within 1 issue of the annual meeting.

2002 Dennis Miya, DDS
2004 Warren K. Johnson, DDS
2006 Ronald S. Gusa, DDS
2008 Richard Stevenson III., DDS
2012 Richard J. Hoard, DDS
2015 Richard D. Tucker, DDS
2016 Barry O. Evans, DDS
2018 Bruce Small, DDS
2018 David Thorburn, DDS


President's Award

The President's award recognizes a member of the Academy that served the organization in a meaningful manner as judged by the standing President of that year. It is the president that makes this choice, though she/he may seek the advice/opinion of others. Ultimately it is the President's choice and ought to be a nice surprise to the recipient as well as the members attending the Gala celebration. This award is given annually.

2002 Dr. Ed Kardong/ Dr. Richard Rotter
2003 Dr. Jack Boatman, Jr
2004  Dr. Ed Kardong/ Dr. James M. Deckman
2005  Dr. Sil O. Strandwold
2006  Dr. Barry O. Evans
2007  Dr. Alan M. Voda
2008  Dr. David Thorburn
2009  Dr. Cesare Robello
2010  Dr. Margaret Webb
2011  Dr. Bruce Small
2012  Mr. Mark Ziemkowski
2013  Dr. Mark Cruz
2014  Dr. Maureen Andrea
2015  Dr. Lawrence Vanzella
2016  Dr. Barbara Young
2017  Dr. Randy Allan
2018  Dr. Andreas Bien
2019 Dr. Cleveland Smith